i’m a disappearing act done poorly

I am such a lazy writer that I couldn’t figure out how to start this goddamn post.

To be fair, I recently started school again. I’ve been buried under homework, personal stress, and general life bullshit. But, at last, I’m crawling out from my Batcave* and hissing at the daylight to blog about writing once more.

It’s not like I haven’t been writing lately, it’s just…
It’s just that…
I guess…
Okay, I haven’t been writing much. I’m back in Creative Writing class (the class for which I wrote “Forged in Fire,” “Pretty Miss Douglass,” and “Forward Motion” last year) and so I’m writing. Nothing of substance, not yet, but writing is good, even if it’s shit. It’s better to write shit than nothing at all, right?

I’ve quote-unquote started writing two short stories, titled “Bring Me a Dream” and “Scary Monsters,” but I haven’t written enough of either to say if they’re ever going to come to fruition or not. I mean, I haven’t touched that “She Who Fights Monsters” one in months and I still kind of want to. Anyway, I’ve been focused on this novel idea that I had in March. I’m officially 2000-some words into it, so I can tell you that it’s a supernatural spy thriller entitled Human Again. But that’s all. Seriously.

I’m still–slowly, very slowly–working on Figment Wilson. I’m two chapters into the revision and… ouch. Clumsy, clumsy writing. One of my favorite people, Evvy of Fuck Yeah Character Development, made an incredible post about good vs. bad writing and summed it up like this: “…I judge everything in the arts world as ‘good’ or ‘bad’ based on whether or not it does its job, and whether or not it does its job elegantly.” Most of Figment Wilson is at a place where the writing does its job, but in the most convoluted, difficult, overall least elegant way possible. Some of it doesn’t even do its job, which is even more painful to fix.

But, hey, at least I’m getting there.

Runs In The Family is on hold for the time being. I’m probably going to start it for real in November, for National Novel Writing Month. It’s my favorite month. So many novels!

Just recently, I finished a novelette (it’s about 9400 words long) entitled “Who Killed Amanda Palmer?” It’s based on the amazing Amanda Palmer’s debut solo album of the same name, with each mini-chapter corresponding to a song. I’m seeing Amanda live for the first time this Saturday! I have a copy of the book (ordered from Lulu, who I’ve found I like better than CreateSpace) that I plan on giving her. Keep your fingers crossed!
The novelette was written for WriteWorld’s Album Challenge, and will eventually be posted on their site for reading.

Additionally, I’ve been doing some edits of my short story/poetry collection, We Are All Lonely. This is super exciting, guys. I’m hoping to have it all revised and ready by mid-November so I can sell copies at my hypothetical Tucson ComiCon table. When it’s good to go, I’ll have them up for sale so you people can buy the book (and e-book, maybe?) and give me money.
The current We Are All Lonely line-up is…
“Poem of Twos”
“The Dormitories of Miskatonic University”
“Here’s To You, Mr. Robinson”
“A Voluntary Drowning”
“Four”
“Forward Motion”
“Some Nights”
“Pretty Miss Douglass”
“The Lay of Thrym” (a take on Norse mythology, originally part of The World According To Loki)
“Forged in Fire”
“The Good Feast Is On Tonight”

And that, my friends, is super duper exciting. I can’t wait until people can actually read a couple of works in here that haven’t been published before! I’m about to order a draft copy of the book so I can continue editing the stories and making them pitch-perfect.

And that’s how my writing life has been lately. Busy and yet empty at the same time.

-Jimmy

1 comment
  1. Thanks for sharing. I also have been sliding on my writing time of late. Being back in class should definitely help things.

Leave a Reply

