she who fights monsters

Okay, so A MILLION OR SO YEARS AGO (aka this time, 8th grade) I started writing a short story based on this dream I had. Back then, it was called “Anti.” If you don’t remember it (you probably don’t), it was about this monster-hunter girl who pisses a monster off with her pride and becomes the monster. How original. It was also poorly-written, as was everything I wrote in 8th grade.

So I started re-writing it. I wrote the first 1200 or so words last night (for my “750” words. I go on to 750words.com and write over 900 words) and I’m probably going to finish it this weekend. Now it’s titled “She Who Fights Monsters” after the well-known Nietzsche quote (“He who fights monsters should see to it that he himself does not become a monster”). It’s probably going to be very long. Maybe shorter than “Pretty Miss Douglass,” but perhaps longer. I’d ballpark it (from what I have written) at 2500-3500 words long.

At the same time, I’m about to log on to 750words.com to tap out a chapter for Bad Moon Rising. I’m not sure if I’m going to end up writing the first chapter or a later chapter (which I have had planned for a while), but neither would be about the Violet and Oliver from “Le Conflit” and “Nous Devons Voyager.” Actually, these chapters would be about the main characters of the novel– modern day Violet and Oliver, who are probably somehow related to Victorian-era Violet and Oliver. They’re all werewolves, anyway. This is one heck of a novel to be writing, that’s for sure.

I’m just writing a lot lately, actually. Novels, short stories, blog posts…

-Jimmy

Leave a Reply

