oh, how it’s been so long.

i’ve been writing all-new stories for you.

Sadly, I haven’t. Well… I’ve been writing, but it’s fairly under-wraps. I’m putting Starstealers a smidge on hold for the moment to work out the bulk of a new project. On top of that, I’ve been working with Jenn (my comics artist! she draws Mindwarp & Eris and did the art for “That Joke Isn’t Funny Anymore”) on our submission for Unite and Take Over Vol. 2. I am working on two shot stories (“Rebel, Rebel (Timmy Plays Guitar)” and “Some Nights”), one of which is your first look into a new universe of mine! Exciting!

In Creative Writing class (which I sadly cannot take next year) we’re moving in to scripting. We’ve made superhero/villain characters (mine is an amoral fellow with a vendetta named Clockwork) and we’re teaming up to make radio plays about them. In a little more than a month, Script Frenzy begins and you all know what that means…
…yep, it means that Transmagical is finally going to be visible for people who aren’t me or my Creative Writing class.

To explain: Transmagical was my 2011 NaNoWriMo novel (clocked in at 71,500 words and barely halfway through the story), basically a take on the whole mahou shoujo deal with Lovecraft. Yep. Magical girls fighting shoggoth. The twist is that the main character, Jared, is a trans boy who was recruited as Sailor Summershine before he was out. It’s about his personal struggles and the struggles of all of the magical girls and boys in the world against Deep Ones and Dagon and good stuff like that. I was planning to turn it into a webcomic– with an art team of 6-8 people– and then I never really did anything with it. So I’m finally adapting it into a comic script for Screnzy this year, which will be pretty awesome.

And another thing. Poetry! I’m not as into my poetry as I probably should be (mostly because I save my energy for my prose and scripts), but I entered last Friday’s Poetry Slam at the library. It was really exciting, and everyone was pretty spectacular. I read “Forward Motion” (which you can read by clicking that nifty link) and a short poem called “A Boy (or Coming Out).” There were four prizes: Best Performance (which went to a friend-of-a-friend with her improvisational poem), Most Creative (which went to my very good friend and adopted older sister, Ven), Best Poem (which went to an acquaintance with a spectacular poem), and Poetry Grand Slam (most points awarded by the judges). I managed to win Poetry Grand Slam, with 116/120 points, and I got a $25 Amazon gift card.

That’s been my creative life lately. Wow, long post. I promise that I’ll post more often now, it’s almost been ten days since my last.

-Jimmy

Leave a Reply

